My Current WIP

For those of you who don’t know, a WIP is a writer or artists current work in progress. As a blogger, vlogger, and writer, I always have multiple WIPs. In the instance, I’m discussing my novel.

Earlier in my writing journey, I focused on writing poetry inspired by the events I experienced first-hand and my emotions. Now I write more blog posts than anything else, but I’m also putting a huge focus on my novel.

I first encountered the magical realism genre when I read Carrie Hope Fletcher’s On the Other Side nearly three years ago. I liked it so much that a story idea that I had for two years switched from contemporary realism to magical realism. However, I only started to actually write it this past winter. I’ve officially written over a quarter of that still-nameless novel now.

It isn’t as magicky as I had hoped yet, but I’ll fix that in the several edits to come. The important thing is that it exists. Well over 20,000 words. On paper. Honestly, I didn’t know if I could make it this far writing this project. Especially not after several failed attempts to just start it, and definitely not after five years of dreading the process of writing anything longer than a blog post.

But here I am, loving every moment of it.

I’ve written all but 4,575 words by hand whilst in downtime at work or home. That’s so bizarre to me because of how long I’ve despised writing anything other than poetry by hand. I would occasionally write blog posts by hand, but even that was rare until last winter. Nevertheless, that’s how I’ve come to do the majority of my writing for my novel and for blog posts.

The story follows a university student who has an internship at a small marketing firm but who would rather be a playwright. She slowly learns that her writing affects reality, and has to choose whether to keep writing or risk harm to those who read or watch her work.

Are you a writer too? What genre and/or target audience do you prefer writing for? Let me know in the comments!

Published by A Boggus Life

I am an eclectic reader and editor who solves Rubik's cubes, writes, draws and paints, and longs to live in England and France.

4 thoughts on “My Current WIP

    1. Thanks! It’s changed so much from when I first came up with the idea, and I like it so much more now. Hopefully I’ll finish the rough draft this year or next.

Leave a comment