Confession 2: Three Songs

Choosing just three songs to deem the most important in my life is a near impossible task. There are loads of songs out there which I love and which hold a lot of meaning to me, but the longer I think about it, the fewer songs actually seem important. After dwelling on this for a while, I have chosen songs which greatly impacted my childhood/adolescence as well as which continue to impact my life now.

“A Minute Without You” by Hanson might be the only song with lyrics that I will always see as truly important in my life. This song became the song claimed and shared between us Boggus girls. I have no idea when or how it happened, but ever since I was a little girl, I have always seen this as a song for my sisters and me. It holds so many memories and longings within its chords, lyrics, and harmonies. Anytime I hear it, all I can think of is how much I want to be with my sisters.

When I was in junior high and high school and Shawn, Kelly, and I were together, we would dance to this song. I think the most memorable time was when our grandparents were in town and we were sent to the store to get a few things. We had formed the joyful habit of dancing in the Walmart parking lot a long time before this, so after we checked out we went back to Shawn and Kelly’s cars and started blaring the music. Rather quickly we received a phone call asking what was taking us so long, so we were winding down and getting ready to leave when Kelly realised she had locked her keys in her car.

Other than it being a fun and crazy evening, I can’t remember anything special about that particular time, but it is one of my happiest memories.

I still remember hearing “The Fellowship” by Howard Shore and “Hedwig’s Theme” by John Williams on the trailers and in advertisements before the movies came out. These two are incredibly commonly heard now, especially by The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter fans. I’ve loved both of these fandoms for almost as long as I can remember. Obviously, Harry Potter came a bit later, and I didn’t actually get involved in reading the books and watching the movies until a little bit later, but it actually holds a little bit more importance to me than LOTR, and I am quite obsessed with both.

The Lord of the Rings was always a story of adventure and hope for me, and I’ve always greatly admired the works of J.R.R. Tolkien. So when the movies came out, my family watched them. I remember going to the theatre on Christmas Day to see The Return of the King, which thus began a family tradition. “The Fellowship” and the entirety of LOTR has always made me long to do what ever I can to make the world a better place, even if I seem like an unlikely candidate for doing so.

Harry Potter, on the other hand, was there for me when I felt like no one and nothing else was. My sisters had just both moved out of town, which meant the two people that I felt I could tell anything to and the two people I knew would always be my friends were no longer just down the hall or across town. Before this, even though we weren’t allowed, my sisters and I watched all the Harry Potter films that had been released (which was through Order of the Phoenix). I had attempted reading the books multiple times before, but was always caught by my parents. I had been feeling incredibly sad and alone after they moved out, and had started to lose all interest in everything. The pain I had been feeling became emptiness, and I just started to not feel.

After a couple of months, I was walking through the library as I often did, and I saw the Harry Potter books. I decided to check one out. Little did I know, this was the first step into feeling alive again. I gained so many friends in those books, and eventually gained friends in high school and on through becoming a fan of them. Neville and Hermoine helped me understand myself and become comfortable, and even proud, of who I was. Neville was the forgetful child who always had all sorts of things happen to him, and I was that child as well. Hermoine was the smart child who strove to do her best in everything she did and tended to prefer her time in the company of books, although she wanted human companionship as well, and I was too. Through seeing these two characters grow and find friendship and start believing in themselves, I was able to as well.

As you can tell, my “most important songs” don’t hold any importance because of what they are, but instead because of the memories they hold and the things they represent. What are your most important songs?

Published by

A Boggus Life

I am an eclectic reader and editor who solves Rubik's cubes, writes, draws and paints, and longs to live in England and France.

2 thoughts on “Confession 2: Three Songs”

Leave a Reply

