Fictional Inspiration

There are so many books, movies, and shows which make me wish I lived a life full of crazy adventures and was so unbelievably talented/skilled/learned in an area that I could work for these cool organisations. These shows make me want to spend my life learning and theorising about things which aren’t in my field of study. Shows like Torchwood, Alphas, Primeval, Dollhouse, and Supernatural.

I know that these shows are based on situations which don’t exist (though we all secretly hope they do), but that doesn’t change my desire to learn about them and to broaden my knowledge and experience. I want to  save the earth from aliens with Captain Jack Harkness, see electromagnetic wavelengths with Gary Bell, research anomalies with Connor Temple, rescue the Actives with Paul Ballard, and fight off evil with Sam and Dean Winchester. But here I am, continuing to sit at my computer day after day without taking any steps toward living a life like those I see in my favourite shows. If I put my mind and body to it, I would be capable of anything I wanted. So why do I always sit around, occasionally researching things, looking for jobs, trying to make things without putting my mind to being extraordinary?

If we all tried, we would be geniuses in our areas of interest. So why don’t we try? Why don’t we put ourselves out there and become like our favourite characters and fight for the betterment of the world with our not-necessarily-unique skills. I know sometimes I don’t do things that would help the world be a better place, even if it’s just for one person, because I won’t be recognised for it. We don’t need to be recognised for making a difference, though we would all like that on occasion. Basically none of our favourite characters are recognised for what they did, yet they continue anyway. So why not be like them? Let’s discipline ourselves to become better and better day by day so that we can live extraordinary lives, even if we are the only ones who see them as more than ordinary.

Published by

A Boggus Life

I am an eclectic reader and editor who solves Rubik's cubes, writes, draws and paints, and longs to live in England and France.

Leave a Reply

