Confession #1

I am an internet hoarder.

I have accounts all over the place. I “like” everything (example: at this very moment I have 3863 “likes” on Pinterest). I rarely ever post anything. And I don’t even want to know how many bookmarks I have on my browser and links I’ve messaged myself.

The worst part about the entire thing is that I don’t really ever use anything that I have online. I stock pile in case I want or need to use things in the future, but half of them just lay there untouched, and even unwanted, for months on end. If my room looked like my internet usage, I wouldn’t be able to live in it. But on a computer, you can hide things away in neat folders within folders within folders within folders until it seems as though there is only one thing. I think it’s about time for a purge to happen on my computer and accounts. I need to organise things, throw some things out, and start using others.

I keep thinking of the Doctor Who episode “Turn Left” where Donna essentially relives her life and she realises how important her choices have been, not just for her, but for everyone. It makes me wonder what choices I’m missing out on because of wasting so much time perusing videos of people being scared (http://longhairandtiredeyes.tumblr.com/post/87647813524/punkrockmerman-jamestmccoy) or photos of cats. How can I put my time, in general and online, to better use? How can I change someone’s life for the better through the internet and in person?

Faith, I believe it is time for some changes.

Published by

A Boggus Life

I am an eclectic reader and editor who solves Rubik's cubes, writes, draws and paints, and longs to live in England and France.

Leave a Reply

